Yo La Tengo - Ohm

As the distinct sound of bongo drums begin, the track fades in and Yo La Tengo’s simple, yet brilliant melody begins. The track titled, “Ohm” is the first track on Yo La Tengo’s most recent album Fade that was released this year on January 15. Fade is Yo La Tengo’s thirteenth album since the band first formed in 1984. The band is composed of guitarist Ira Kaplan, drummer Georgia Hubley , and bassist James McNew, with each member on vocals. Fans and critiques alike agree that Fade is a return to the band’s typical sound that most fans have grown accustomed to, though the New Jersey-born band has altered their sound significantly in recent years.

At its core, “Ohm” is a lucid series of Kaplan’s circling guitar riffs, Hubley’s smooth drums, and the  American trio’s clean and simplistic mix of vocals. To hear the new track, check out the YouTube video below.

[youtube id=”BauiMlA0VVo” width=”600″ height=”350″]