Jacksonville-based 10-piece LPT’s debut full-length Sin Parar was released to great fanfare in February. While it received its share of critical praise from music publications across the globe, perhaps most importantly to the band, Duval turned out to DT Jax live music hotspot 1904 Music Hall–in record numbers–to see the hometown purveyors of Salsa Dura and Afro-Cuban rip through a wild set of tunes from the much-anticipated release.

And despite a postponed spring tour, the momentum hasn’t ceased for the band, as it was announced last week that Sin Parar had earned the group two Independent Music Awards nominations–Best Latin Album and Best Latin Song for the record’s title track. LPT joins a nominee cohort of heavy hitters, including Lucinda Williams, Steven Van Zandt, Jesse Malin, Jonatha Brooke, STORRY, Sawyer Fredericks, Sofía Rei & JC Maillard, Chiara Izzi, Jake La Botz, Wouter Kellerman, Guy Scheiman, The Dollyrots and Sekou Andrews, among many other recognizable and highly influential names.

“We are honored to be nominated in two separate categories,” says Josue Cruz, LPT’s singer and de-facto hypeman, both on-stage and off. “Representing salsa and Latin music and being recognized for such is humbling.”

An album filled with infectious rhythms and ear-worm melodies, Sin Parar is far from a party record, lyrically dealing at times with violence, oppression, and inequality. The album’s opening track “Guerra Guerra” is an overt protest song, the chorus lamenting “war, war and peace does not arrive.”

The nominations are a big deal for the band and well-deserved. The Independent Music Awards, now in its 18th year, is produced by Music Resource Group, and recognizes exceptional work by indie creatives from around the globe. 

You can order a copy of Sin Parar here.

Click play to watch LPT rattle the walls of Void HQ a few years back. 

Our April issue is all digital and chalked full of FEEL GOOD content. Click the mag below to dig in!

Click the mag to read online.